The Eagle made its first appearance February 13, 1854, under the management of Messrs. J. M. Bevirt & W. E. Shoupe, publishers, two young printers of practically no editorial experience. Governor John Reynolds edited it for a short time.
It was at first a daily paper but soon was changed to a weekly and renamed the St. Clair Tribune.
“The United States – The Asylum of the Oppressed, - The Scourge of Tyrants, and the Only Government of Human Freedom.”
(From the History of St. Clair County, Illinois by Brink, McDonough & Co. 1881).