Go Back

Publication Name:


Years in print:



The first number of the Eagle was issued in Belleville February 13th, 1854, by Messrs. Bevirt & Shoupe, two young men, both practical printers but having no editorial experience. It was placed under the editorial control of “Gov. [John] Reynolds,” who conducted it for a short time. When first issued it was a daily, but it was soon changed to a weekly, and at the same time underwent a change in name, becoming the St. Clair Tribune.

(From the History of St. Clair County, Illinois by Brink, McDonough & Co. 1881).

Masthead Images:

Daily Belleville Eagle


Not Yet Implemented

Related Articles: