Years in print:
The Annals of Ophthalmology, Otology, Rhinology and Laryngology, a quarterly journal and review of the sciences named in its title, was instituted in 1892 by Dr. James Pleasant Parker. It represents his most important and all-absorbing effort through many years, and is an enduring monument to his memory. In 1896 Dr. Parker died, and the conduct of the Annals was successfully assumed by Dr. Casey A Wook, of Chicago, the publication being carried on in St. Louis by Jones A. Parker, a brother of the deceased editor. On account of the great bulk of the publication, which had grown from 277 pages in 1892 to 1,318 pages in 1897, it was found necessary to disassociate the departments, and the journal became two, one being the Annals of Ophthalmology, and the other The Annals of Otology, Rhinology and Laryngology, each issued quarterly, January 1, 1899.
(From the Encyclopedia of the History of Missouri edited by Howard A. Conard, 1901).